shutterstock_228613051

Christmas message
from the Moderator of the Church of Scotland

A very happy Christmas to everyone. Here is a Christmas Day message from the Moderator of the Church of Scotland,
Rt Rev. Dr. Martin Fair:
https://fb.watch/2BA02h5TlD/

Watchnight Service

In place of a live Watchnight we are providing a recorded Service of Lessons and Carols. You can access this via Dropbox (you don’t need Dropbox to download it): https://www.dropbox.com/s/blh74w0frqfk2b5/Service%20of%20Lessons%20and%20Carols%202020.mp4?dl=0

Here is the Order of Service:

Lessons and Carols – Introduction
Lesson One: Genesis 3:8-19
Once in Royal David’s City (v 1,2, 5,6)
Meditation I
Lesson Two: Genesis 22:15-18 and Lesson Three: Isaiah 9:2, 6-7
In the Bleak Midwinter (v 1, 2, 4,5)
Meditation II
Lesson Four: Isaiah 11:1-9
Lesson Five: Luke 1:26-38
Hark the Herald Angels Sing
Meditation III
Lesson Six: Luke 2:1-7 and  Lesson Seven: Luke 2:8-16
Lesson Eight: Matthew 2:1-12
Congregational Carol – Still the Night
Meditation IV
Lesson Nine: John 1:1-14
O Come, all ye Faithful
6th December 3

From 1st to 24th December you can visit Wardie Advent Doors – windows, doors and gates around the parish that will display a poem, a thought or a prayer, along with a star. You can find the list of Wardie Advent Doors here.

On this page we’ll include pictures of some of the doors. If you host a Wardie Advent Door, don’t forget to take a picture and send it in!

2nd, 3rd and 4th December

5th December

6th December

7th December

8th December

9th December

10th December

11th December

12th December

13th December

14th December

15th December

16th December

17th December

18th December

19th December

20th December

21st December

22nd December

23rd December

24th December

Star picture

Every day from 1st to 24th December there’ll be a door to visit.

You’ll find a star and a poem or prayer at the addresses below.

You can visit at any time during the day.

Tuesday 1st December: Wardie Church, Netherby Road Door

Wednesday 2nd December: 64 East Trinity Road

Thursday 3rd December: 33 Boswall Road

Friday 4th December: 45 Netherby Road

Saturday 5th December: 102 Trinity Road

Sunday 6th December: 12 Afton Terrace

Monday 7th December: 4 Primrose Bank Road

Tuesday 8th December: 54 Netherby Road

Wednesday 9th December: 8 Clark Road

Thursday 10th December: 20 Larkfield Gardens

Friday 11th December: 14 Netherby Road

Saturday 12th December: 21 Netherby Road

Sunday 13th December: 3 Wardie Dell

Monday 14th December: 22 Lomond Road

Tuesday 15th December: 180 Granton Road

Wednesday 16th December: 30 Starbank Road

Thursday 17th December: 10 Russell Place

Friday 18th December: 13 Lennox Row

Saturday 19th December: 12 Stirling Road

Sunday 20th December: 19 Denham Green Avenue

Monday 21st December: 1 Bangholm View

Tuesday 22nd December: 92 Trinity Road

Wednesday 23rd December: 62 East Trinity Road

Thursday 24th December: Wardie Church, Main Door

church

Sunday 9th May at 10.30am

Join us live from the sanctuary of Wardie Church.

Accessing the Service

Join us on Zoom – https://zoom.us/j/98439245188?pwd=ZEN4SHJLanFxMUhWN1ZwUVgvaS91UT09

Access from 10.20am – Meeting ID: 984 3924 5188
Passcode: 3sbpRK

Access will be available from 10.20am.

Zoom is designed to mute everyone on entry but please ensure that your microphone is off when you are in the service.

There will be a virtual coffee after the service. Grab yourself a drink and stay online for a chat!

***********************

Don’t miss Sunday School from 9.45am! Same joining details as above.

P1040439

The Wardie Parish Church Nominating Committee, elected by the Congregation, have chosen the person they wish to propose to this congregation of Wardie to be our new minister. The name of the person proposed is Rev Dolly Purnell.

The Nominating Committee is unanimously delighted to nominate Mrs Purnell as Sole Nominee for the congregation to consider. Therefore, arrangements have been made for her to conduct public worship in Wardie Church on Sunday 23rd May at 10.30am.

All persons on the congregational roll will shortly be receiving a full letter regarding the process, including how voting is to be conducted.

where-the-children-sit

Thanks to everyone who came to our ‘open for prayer’ sessions on a Sunday afternoon over the last few weeks and to those who helped staff and prepare these events.

At this time, we will be stopping the weekly Sunday afternoon prayer sessions as we are now focusing on preparing for the launch of online services from Sunday 20th September. We are also working through the process that will allow us to re-open for people to attend our Sunday 10.30am sevice in person. Our numbers will be limited by government guidelines and we are looking at giving priority to those unable to access worship online.

open-door
We have been granted by Edinburgh Presbytery the right, without restriction, to call a Minister.
Informal enquiries should be directed to Rev Ann Inglis, ainglis@churchofscotland.co.uk.
We are now formally advertising the post, with a closing date of 16th October. Find out how to apply

Latest news

We have elected a Nominating Committee which is currently meeting weekly via Zoom. Brian Cooper has been elected as Convener, Robin Black as Vice-Convener and Fiona Lane as Clerk. The other members are:
Simon Backett
Cathy Ballantine
Barbara Brodie
Stephen Green
Heather McHaffie
Lynn McKenzie
Ian Mann
Sarah Matthews
Paul Mitchell
Ross Morrison
As Rev. Ann Inglis, our Interim Moderator, has requested, please do not ask members of the Committee for information due to the sensitive and confidential nature of the work.
The blessing screenshot

At this unique and challenging time in the United Kingdom over 65 churches and movements, representing hundreds of others, have come together online to sing a blessing over our land. Standing together as one, our desire is that this song will fill you with hope and encourage you. But the church is not simply singing a blessing, each day we’re looking to practically be a blessing. Many of the churches included in this song have assisted with supplying over 400,000 meals to the most vulnerable and isolated in our nation since COVID-19 lockdown began. This alongside phone calls to the isolated, pharmacy delivery drops and hot meals to the NHS frontline hospital staff.

Our buildings may be closed but the church is very much alive!

Listen to the UK Blessing here.

p1040441

Since we closed Wardie Church in response to the coronavirus pandemic, we have been producing a weekly Sunday Service that you can read, which includes a sermon, prayers and hymns. You can find links to the services below.

Sunday 9th May

Sunday 2nd May

Sunday 25th April

Sunday 18th April

Sunday 11th April

Easter Sunday, 4th April

Sunday 28th March

Sunday 21st March

Sunday 14th March

Sunday 7th March

Sunday 28th February

Sunday 21st February

Sunday 14th February

Sunday 7th February

Sunday 31st January

Sunday 24th January

Sunday 17th January

Sunday 10th January

Sunday 3rd January

Sunday 13th December

Sunday 6th December

Sunday 29th November

Sunday 22nd November

Sunday 15th November

Sunday 8th November

Sunday 1st November

Sunday 25th October

Sunday 18th October

Sunday 11th October

Sunday 4th October

Sunday 27th September

Sunday 20th September

Sunday 13th September

Sunday 6th September

Sunday 30th August

Sunday 23rd August

Sunday 16th August

Sunday 9th August

Sunday 2nd August

Sunday 26th July

Sunday 19th July

Sunday 12th July

Sunday 5th July

Sunday 28th June

Sunday 21st June

Sunday 14th June

Sunday 7th June

Sunday 31st May

Sunday 24th May

Sunday 17th May

Sunday 10th May

Sunday 3rd May

Sunday 26th April

Sunday 19th April

Sunday 12th April (Easter Sunday)

Sunday 5th April

Sunday 29th March

 

easter

Each day during Holy Week the congregations of Dalmeny, Queensferry and Wardie Churches are uniting to reflect on the last and most dramatic week in the life of Jesus.

Each day a reflection on the events associated with that particular day in the week will be provided by Bob Gemmell, Ann Inglis and David Cameron, ministers in the congregations, with additional material provided by some of the members of Queensferry Church.

You can access each reflection below in pdf format. We will add the reflection for each day as the week progresses.

Palm Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Maundy Thursday

Good Friday

Holy Saturday

Easter Sunday